HOME

Welcome to the picture desk of stern Magazine’s publications

(Klicken Sie hier für die deutsche Version dieses Textes.)

On this page you will find information on

  • How to submit your digital images.
  • Quality requirements of the images.
  • How to label your pictures properly.
  • How to contact our staff. 

How can you submit your digital data?

FTP

You can send your images via FTP Server. All you need is an FTP program such as Mozilla Firefox, Cyberduck, fireFTP or SmartFTP. Please use the following login data:

Please provide your pictures in a folder and name the folder by the subject and the photographer's and/ or agency's abbreviation. Folder and file names should content max. 30 characters, no special characters such as ! "§ $% & / () =? '© or ä ö or ü.

After successful transmission it takes about 10-15 minutes until we can view your picture material in our database. Please take this into consideration in case of queries. Our FTP server works like a mailbox: you can upload your images, but you have no access to check if your folder has been transferred. Please do not send us delivery notes, caption lists, Word-documents or PDFs via FTP. Also ZIP files will not be imported automatically from our database.

We-Transfer or Dropbox

We are also happy to accept your data via WeTransfer- or Dropbox-Download-Links. This is especially recommended for larger PDFs and image files.

E-mail

Stern picture desk’s main mail address is picturedesk@stern.de, to which all picture editors have access to. You can send us individual images or illustrations, documents, PDFs portfolios or written exposés at any time. However, please send us only small data.

The mail addresses of our staff always consist of "lastname.firstname@stern.de", e.g. Eucker.Andreas@stern.de. Attention: All personalized E-mail-addresses at stern editorial office are only accessible to the respective owner. If you want to make sure that your material is being screened, please send your message cc. to picturedesk@stern.de. The inbox for stern picture desk’s main mail address is being checked every day, corresponding mails are forwarded and edited.

Image quality and editing

Processing of the images is acceptable to limited extent. This includes adjustments of tonal value, brightness, contrast, or definition are certainly, to get the best results from your pictures. If we are not happy with your image processing, we will request a TIFF or RAW from you.

JPG, PDF, TIFF or RAW

In general, it is sufficient to provide us with only slightly compressed JPGs (Photoshop level 9-12). Especially if you have a lot of pictures or a slow internet connection, this might be the best way. TIFF files are of course always welcome, especially if we have already ordered print data (High-Res) from you. RAW files are welcome, but please not as standard picture delivery. If we have a color-binding JPG from you and want to print it, then we are grateful if you subsequently provide a RAW file. Please deliver RAWs upon request only and/ or consultation with us and please send them via FTP to our special 'RAW-FTP' access or via WeTransfer: 

File sizes

For first view/ layout 6 MB are big enough, for printing we would like to have file sizes in:

  • Approx. 15 MB for half pages
  • Approx. 30 MB for single pages
  • Approx. 60 MB for double pages

Labeling

Your pictures must be labeled correctly. Please write the information about who, where, when, what, why in the corresponding IPTC fields.

Following information are mandatory:

Scene Description

Who is depicted in the picture or a description of the situation. If possible please provide first and surname of the persons, as well as information on their age and their function.

Holder of the rights

Who gets the fee for the published image?

Photographer

Who took the photographs?

Location

Where exactly was the photograph taken--place, city, country?

Special Instructions

Is there anything we have to take into consideration? Any persons on the images who are minors? Persons who have not given their approval or declaration of consent to have their picture published? Blocking of pictures, exclusive fees, no attribution of the photographer on publication, any restrictions on the use of a different kind? (e.g., in social media)

Date

When was the photo taken?


Contact information stern picture desk

Photo direction, Tel.: 040 - 3703 4439, Fax: 040 - 3703 5626,
picturedesk@stern.de
Andreas Kronawitt, Tel.: 040 - 3703 3561,
kronawitt.andreas@stern.de
Andreas Trampe, Tel.: 040 - 3703 4122,
trampe.andreas@stern.de
Maren Bockstede  (assistence), Tel.: 040 - 3703 4471,
bockstede.maren@stern.de
Andrea Hill (assistence), Tel.: 040 - 3703 4471,
hill.andrea@stern.de
Carolin Theilen (assistence), Tel.: 040 - 3703 4435,
theilen.carolin@stern.de


Foreign Affairs
Volker Lensch, Tel.: 040 - 3703 3760,
lensch.volker@stern.de
Guido Schmidtke, Tel.: 040 - 3703 3518,
schmidtke.guido@stern.de


Germany: politics, economics & society
Stephanie Harke, Tel.: 040 - 3703 3550,
harke.stephanie@stern.de
Claudia Menzel, Tel.: 040 - 3703 3798,
menzel.claudia@stern.de


Pictures of the week/Cosmos
Petra Göllnitz, Tel.: 040 - 3703 2595,
goellnitz.petra@stern.de
Alexandru Pasca, Tel.: 040 - 3703 4286,
pasca.alexandru@stern.de


Science, medicine, travel, food, tech & automobile

Andreas Eucker, Tel:  040 - 3703 3293,
eucker.andreas@stern.de
Alexandru Pasca, Tel.: 040 - 3703 4286,
pasca.alexandru@stern.de


Culture, lifestyle, celebrities, fashion & sports
Stephanie Maroscheck, Tel.: 040 - 3703 3064,
maroscheck.stephanie@stern.de
Lisa Meinen, Tel.: 040 - 3703 3549,
meinen.lisa@stern.de


stern London
Dagmar Seeland, Tel.: 0044-1-892618245,
seeland.dagmar_fr@stern.de


stern New York
Angelika Hala, Tel.: 001-646-8847102,
hala.angelika@stern.de


stern Rom
Luisa Brandl, Tel.: 0039-06-4542 0770,
stern.rome@gmail.com

 

stern Crime Bildredaktion
Trixi Rossi, Tel.: 040 - 3703 3695,
rossi.trixi@stern.de

 

stern-Extra/Thema/Ratgeber
Andreas Eucker, Tel:  040 - 3703 3293,
eucker.andreas@stern.de

 

stern Gesund Leben
Henriette Primus, Tel.: 040 - 3703 4415,
primus.henriette@stern.de


stern.de
Karen Wiegersen, Tel.: 040 - 3703 4285,
wiegersen.karen@stern.de

 

View Bildredaktion, Tel.: 040 - 3703 7343,
bildredaktion@view-magazin.de
View Artdirektion
Kathrin Kosaca, Tel.: 040 - 3703 7342,
kosaca.kathrin@view-magazin.de

Themen in diesem Artikel